Things I’ve accomplished in my 20s

Came across an article some time back about a list of “20 things you need to accomplish in your 20s” and I thought I’ll do up a list of my own.

However when I was going through the list again, I realized I’ve actually accomplished quite a few items. So now I shall write about my so-called “accomplishments” and what I want to achieve before I turn 30 next year. Do bear in mind that the list below is just based solely on my life, on the little achievements that I’m proud of, so it might not sound as ambitious or exciting or noble as you would like it to be.

Proudly accomplished:

1) open a trading account early this year and learnt how to invest in Equities and value listed companies

Despite working 4 years in a bank, I had never taken an interest in financial products nor had I learnt about investing. It was only when I left the banking industry that I started reading up on my own and started investing in equities. I’m no expert, but within a few months, I did build up a nice portfolio of blue chips from various industries.

2) got out of debt and became a master of my own finances

It wasn’t easy climbing out of debt. But with enough motivation and by being persistent, it can be done. I’ve also created a budget worksheet for myself, sticked to it, trimmed unnecessary expenses, and started saving money.

3) finally knew what I want in life – financial freedom

This is my biggest “accomplishment” by far, in my own opinion. I’ve been drifting along in life for far too long, not knowing what I want in life. All it takes is a little bit of soul searching and asking myself questions on what’s important in my life. I wanted financial freedom, to be able to do what I want, whenever I want. It may sound very generic, everyone wants financial freedom, but there is a deeper meaning behind it. I asked myself what I would do if I’ve achieved financial freedom, if money wasn’t an issue from living the life I want. The answer is very simple. I want to spend time with my loved ones instead of spending most of my waking hours at work, stuck in a cubicle office. I also want to help people in need, to contribute to society, and to help others who were like me, to get a grip on their finances.

4) learnt to be happy with myself

Too often, we let ourselves get affected by people and things outside of our control. We get affected by others’ opinions and bashed ourselves internally by their words. Others can say and think whatever they like, we can’t control that, but we can always control our own thoughts, emotions and actions. No one can make us feel lousy about ourselves unless we allow them the right to do so. We are also very much affected by the things people own, like we see our friends driving a brand new car and we’ll then start to feel lousy with ourselves and try to keep up with the jones. There is this saying “we buy things we do not need, to impress the people we do not like”. It’s so true in our current society. I also believe that “if we buy things we do not need, very soon we will be selling the things that we need”.

5) read on a daily basis and to keep up with current events

Knowledge is power. There’s always so much to learn, to improve on, and I believe reading can help one become a better person. It broaden our world and let us focus not just on ourselves. There’s a bigger world out there than what’s happening in our life and in our circle. When our world become bigger, we learnt to be more understanding and tolerant of others, and learnt that not everything is about us. By keeping abreast with current events, we can make use of opportunities to make more money, to help us achieve what we want in life.

Ironically, I’ve only accomplished the above within this one year. That is, after I’ve sorted out my financial mess.

I also have a list of other things I’m working on to accomplish before turning 30 next year:

1) be more organized

I’m not the most organized person around and I do lose things or forget things easily. This is one area which I need to improve on.

2) get the body I always dreamt of

I’m tired of complaining about my body. It is time to do something about it.0

3) spending more time with my loved ones

I’m getting married next year, so I hope to spend more time with my parents and siblings etc. For a start, I’m bringing my Grandma on a trip to Bangkok in December.

The list I’ve come up with is nothing impressive. It is my little ways of telling myself that I’ve grown, and became a better person.

 

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve accomplished in my 20s

  1. some notes:

    1) in wealth building, following the right mentors is important and its all part of the learning process. following one that you think its good but realize its not will sometimes cause wealth destruction

    2) you probably will be challenged at different times in your life, so reading really helps. reading good sources

    3) getting a good mindset and approaching it as a project is needed for health and wellness as well. getting good body is about growth hacking, habits so do read and test how to do it well

Leave a Reply

